Coming Events

CALL FOR PAPERS EUROPEAN CONFERENCE ON FLAMMABILITY AND FIRE RETARDANTS

Will be held in Hilton International Hotel, Düsseldorf (G.F.R.) May 7-8, 1987

Deadline for submission of Abstracts: January 15, 1987

WORLD CONFERENCE ON THERMAL ANALYSIS

will be organized in Hilton Hotel. Düsseldorf (G.F.R.) May 4-5, 1987

Deadline for submission of Abstracts: February 15, 1987

For information contact: Dr. V. M. Bhatnagar

Alena Enterprises of Canada

P.O. Box 1779

Cornwall, Ontario

K6H 5V7

Canada

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 1987 METTLER AWARD IN THERMAL ANALYSIS

The North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) welcomes nominations for the 1987 Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. This annual award sponsored by the Mettler Instrument Corporation consists of a certificate, a \$1,000.00 honorarium, and travel allowance to the 16th NATAS meeting in Washington, DC (September 27–30, 1987).

The award to recognize and encourage work in and distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis, including but not restricted to thermogravimetry, differential thermal analysis, and effluent gas analysis. A nominee must have performed outstanding service in the field of dynamic thermal analysis or performed outstanding creative work in the creation of or refinement of measurement techniques of generally wide interest during the preceding five years.

The previous recipients of the mettler Award are:

1968 - R. C. MacKenzie	1978 - John K. Gillham
1969 - Robert L. Stone	1979 – David Dollimore
1970 - Wesley W. Wendlandt	1980 - Joseph H. Flynn
1971 - Bernhard Wunderlich	1981 - Takeo Ozawa
1972 - Ferenc and Jeno Paulik	1982 - Jen Chiu
1973 – Edward M. Barall, III	1983 – Roger S. Porter
1974 – Jaroslaw Sestak	1984 – Leo Mandelkern
1975 - Frank Karasz	1985 – Edith A. Turi
1976 - Patrick K. Gallagher	1986 - Hans G. Wiedemann
1977 – H. Kambe	

Nominations should include a description of the accomplishments of the nominee that are relevant to the Mettler Award. Nominations will be accepted through December 31, 1986 and the award will be announced by April 1, 1987.

Nominations should be sent to:

John B. Enns 1987 NATAS Awards Chairman AT & T Bell Laboratories 4C-348 Whippany Road Whippany, NJ 07981 U.S.A.